Women Religious Institutes

The women religious have contributed and are contributing greatly to the pastoral missionary apostolate in the eparchy. Already from the very beginning of the Exarchate of Ujjain, the women religious institutes extended their collaboration to the mission. At present there are 13 religious congregations engaged in the missionary apostolate here. Except 4, all congregations are of Syro-Malabar origin. The Franciscan Clarists have two provinces working in the eparchy. Three of the congregations have their provincial head quarters in the eparchy and six of the congregations have the formation houses in the eparchy. The total number of convents are 59 and the total number of religious women working in the eparchy is 325.


1. Missionary Congregation of the Daughters of St Thomas the Apostle (DST)


2. Franciscan Clarist Congregation (FCC)


3. Sisters of the Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament (SABS)


4. Sisters of St. Joseph's Congregation (S.J.C)


5. Snehagiri Missionary Sisters (SMS)


6. Sacred Heart Congregation (SH)


7. Missionaries of Charity (MC)


8. Sisters of St. Martha's Congregation (SMC)


9. Disciple Sisters of Christ (DSC)


10. Daughters of St. Joseph (DSJ)


11. Congregation of Sisters of St Agatha (SSA)


12. Franciscan Sisters of St. Mary of the Angels (FSMA)


13. Congregation of the Mother of Carmel (CMC)